2019 Australian Champion of Champions: NSW complete clean sweep

by Bowls Australia

New South Wales duo Ray Pearse and Dawn Hayman have been respectively crowned the 2019 Men’s and Women’s Australian Champion of Champions following standout performances at South Perth Bowls Club, WA.

Pearse triumphed 21-4 in the final round of play against Northern Territory’s Bruce Fyfe to make up the shot margin required to overtake Victoria’s Nathan Bush, who held the lead and a five-shot advantage following the penultimate round.

Still requiring a win to have any chance of the title, Bush was beaten by Queensland’s Eric Johannes 17-21 in the final round, which quashed any hope of his superior margin coming into play.

Fellow BCiB Australian Jackaroo Hayman had already sewn up the title with a round to spare, despite losing her final match against NT’s Colleen Orr.

Both players will now represent Australia at the 2020 World Singles Champion of Champions in Adelaide, SA.

Men’s final standings:

Gold – Ray Pearse (NSW)

Silver – Nathan Bush (VIC)

Women’s final standings:

Gold – Dawn Hayman (NSW)

Silver – Renata Callisto (SA)

Rinkside Live replays:

Round 1:

Round 2:

Round 3:

Round 4:

Round 5:

Round 6:

Round 7: