2020 Trans Tasman Test Series: Jackaroos continue Kiwi dominance

by Domenic Favata

The BCiB Australian Jackaroos have hoisted silverware in their final international bout before the 2020 World Bowls Championships, with another dominant Trans Tasman Test Series victory over New Zealand.

With inclement weather forcing a change in venue from Broadbeach to the indoor confines of Tweed Heads on the third and final day of the series, Australia had no problems adjusting to the carpet and secured both third tests on offer.

The Australian Men ran rampant on the final day, winning all matches on offer after their Kiwi counterparts had begun the event with victory in the first test.

Meanwhile, the Australian Women were equally impressive this week, winning all three tests and leading the Jackaroos total of five tests won from a possible six.

Australian selectors will now look to piece together the 10-strong contingent to be selected for the 2020 World Bowls Championships, with the team to be announced Monday, February 10.

Test 3
Thursday, February 6, Tweed Heads
(Venue change from Broadbeach due to inclement weather)

Test 2
Wednesday, February 5, Musgrave Hill

Test 1 
Tuesday, February 4, Club Helensvale

2020 Trans Tasman Test Series
February 4-6, 2020
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
Broadbeach, Helensvale & Musgrave Hill

Australian Open Team

(Test 3 team changes in red)


Singles: Kelsey Cottrell
Pairs: Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch (Lynsey Clarke, Kelsey Cottrell)
Triples: Ellen Ryan, Kelsey Cottrell, Natasha Scott (Ellen Ryan, Natasha Scott Rebecca Van Asch)
Fours: Ellen Ryan, Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch, Natasha Scott


Singles: Aaron Wilson
Pairs: Corey Wedlock, Aaron Wilson
Triples: Wayne Ruediger, Aaron Teys, Aron Sherriff
Fours: Wayne Ruediger, Corey Wedlock, Aaron Teys, Aron Sherriff (Wayne Ruediger, Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock and Aron Sherriff)

New Zealand Open Team


Singles: Jo Edwards
Pairs: Selina Goddard, Jo Edwards
Triples: Wendy Jensen, Val Smith, Katelyn Inch
Fours: Wendy Jensen, Selina Goddard, Val Smith, Katelyn Inch


Singles: Shannon McIlroy
Pairs: Shannon McIlory, Gary Lawson
Triples: Chris Le Lievre, Mike Kernaghan, Ali Forsyth
Fours: Chris Le Lievre, Mike Kernaghan, Gary Lawson, Ali Forsyth

Note: Andrew Kelly replaced by Chris Le Lievre (January 29, 2020)