2022 Australian Open: Day 13 wrap

by Aidan Davis

Right at Home Australian Jackaroo Kelsey Cottrell has claimed the spoils on the penultimate day of the Australian Open, securing two titles in stunning fashion.

Cottrell added her ninth Australian Open title to her resume in the morning, skipping her women’s fours team of Sam Ferguson, Lynsey Clarke and Rebecca Van Asch to an historic three-peat of titles, after wins in 2021 and 2019 (event not staged in 2020).

The quartet etched their names in the record books with a 17-9 victory over Serena Bonnell, Gail Crompton, Vicki Day and Marilyn Emerton.

Not content with just the one title, the prolific AO winner then saluted in the blue-ribbon women’s singles event, in an enthralling nip-and-tuck battle against fellow national representative Dawn Hayman.

Cottrell and Hayman traded blows, with 10 single shots recorded over an 11 end period, with a 27-end battle ensuing before Cottrell notched up the 21-shots required to prevail, leaving Hayman languishing on 17.

Despite being her 10th AO title, which was accompanied by a hefty $12,500 cheque, it was just Cottrell’s second singles victory, after last winning in 2009 as a then 19-year old.

In the other live television broadcast on 7Two, Fox Sports, Kayo and Sky Sport NZ, Birmingham-bound Jackaroos teammates Ben Twist and Aaron Wilson secured their maiden AO men’s pairs trophy, with a come-from-behind victory against Victorians Ben Winther and Brett Spurr after taking two shots on the final end, 19-17.

In the over-60s women’s pairs, Queensland duo Terese McAlary and Faye Clarke toppled Sharon McReynolds and Sue Coultas 18-11, with the men’s event to be contested tomorrow morning.

In the multi-disability men’s and women’s open singles, former Tasmanian skipper David Minns and Tweed Head’s Pamela Branton secured the titles, with scintillating see-sewing encounters that went to down the absolute wire, finishing 21-20 and 21-19 respectively over Frank Krslovic and Cheryl Lindfield

The multi-disability pairs Cooper Whitestyles and para-Jackaroo Damien Delgado hoisted to the trophy aloft courtesy of a one-shot victory over Phillip Mahonney and Clive Williams.

In the vision-impaired battles, Fred McConnell (Director Graham Border) took home the singles title, while Helen Boardman (Director Peter Doherty) and Jake Fehlberg (Director Grant Felhberg) lifted the pairs title.

The final day of the Australian Open will be contested tomorrow, with the over-60s men’s pairs, under-18 girls’ and boys’ singles, men’s fours, women’s pairs and men’s singles ultimate deciders to be played across the day at Broadbeach.

Women’s singles final – replay available on 7Plus, Fox Sports and Kayo
Men’s final – replay available on 7Plus, Fox Sports and Kayo
Women’s fours final replay
Over-60s women’s pairs final replay
Multi-disability Open Pairs final replay
Vision-impaired Open Singles final replay
Vision-impaired open pairs winners
Multi-Disability Women’s Singles final replay
Multi-Disability Men’s Singles final replay