2024 National Development Series preview

by Val Febbo on July 5, 2024

Once again the stars of the future of Australian bowls will take to the greens to battle it out in order to gain vital tournament experience to enhance their growth within the sport.

The 2024 National Development Series will see 20 of the best prospects outside of the Right at Home Jackaroos face each other in a three-day competition that will allow them to flourish in event conditions.

Like 2023, four teams will be taking part in the competition in the form of red, blue, green and yellow squads.

Team Red, coached by Ian Ewing, boasts the likes of ACT stalwart Chloe Morrison and New South Wales Right at Home Emerging Jackaroo Beau Prideaux.

The squad will be bolstered by an in form Kira Bourke and para bowler Lucas Protopapas, as well as recently crowned Australian Open men’s pairs champion Joseph Clarke, who takes Chris Rosanes‘ place in the field after his withdrawal.

Clarke’s pairs teammate at the Australian Open in Jack McShane will spearhead Team Green under coach Claire Turley, alongside the likes of South Australia’s Kate Argent-Bowden and Queensland’s Kane Nelson.

They will be joined by Western Australia’s Jack East and Jodie Nikolic.

Lynsey Clarke’s Team Blue consists of New South Wales’ Kyle Hansen and Jack Lewis, as well as Victoria’s Sophie Kurzman and Cooper Whitestyles.

Tasmania’s Amity Bickley comes into the squad for the unavailable Jessie Cottell.

Finally, Team Yellow will be coached by James Reynolds and boast the likes of the supremely in form Cohen Litfin and Samantha Atkinson, both of whom have enjoyed success on the green in recent months.

Joining them will be Victoria’s Tyson Cromie, who was one of the standouts at the tournament last year, as well as the New South Wales duo of Kate Matthews and Michael Vassallo.

The 2024 National Development Series runs from July 9-11, 2024, with updates via BowlsLink and daily wrap articles on the Bowls Australia website.