Bowlers among King’s Birthday honour recipients

by Lachlan Williams on June 10, 2024

Nearly 500 Australians have been recognised with King’s Birthday honours, with a handful of people from the bowls community among the recipients.

Several member of the bowls community from across the country were recognised with the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to their community, including work they have done with bowls clubs and in the sport.

This year, one person was recognised specifically for their service to lawn bowls.

Ken Forbes was recognised with the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) honour.

Mr Forbes has contributed to bowls for several decades in various capacities. He is a life member at Windang Bowling Club where he is a former president and has played at since the 1980s, and is the Illawarra Zone 16 Bowls Association president, serving in that role since 2008.

Many others have been recognised for their overall contribution to their communities, including bowls. See all those names and their bowls contributions below.

Bowls Australia congratulates all recipients for their commitment to their communities and the sport over many years.

To view all 2024 King’s Birthday honour recipients, click here.

2024 Australia Day honours recipients (bowls contributors)

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM):

Mr Kenneth James Forbes

For service to lawn bowls

Illawarra Zone 16 Bowls Association

  • President, since 2008
  • Delegate, Bowls NSW, since 2008
  • Vice President, 2005-2007
  • Delegate, 2000-2005

Windang Bowling Club

  • President, 2001-2007
  • Former Vice President, two years
  • Former Director
  • Life Member, since 2019
  • Member, since mid 1980s

Bowls – Other

  • Former Secretary, Wollongong City Bowling Club, two years
  • Former President, Illawarra Mercury Bowls Committee, two years.

Mr Michael Nicholas Litis

For service to the community through sports organisations

Hellenic Lawn Bowling Club, Castellorizian Association

  • President, six years
  • Former Secretary, 14 years
  • Former Treasurer
  • Executive Member, 30 years
  • Convenor, Corporate Bowls fundraising events, since 2008
  • Editor, History of the Hellenic Bowling Club – two editions, 1990, and 2010-2014
  • Member, since 1992
  • Life Member, 2006

Sport – Other

  • Board Member, Osborne Park Bowling Club, 2005-2007.

Ms Rhonda Joan Parker

For service to the community of Boyup Brook

Boyup Brook Bowling Club

  • Secretary/Treasurer, since 2019
  • Member, since 2015.

Mr Lance Raymond Boswell

For service to the communities of Albury and Howlong

Howlong Country Golf Club, Howlong Bowling Club

  • President, 1983-2003
  • Treasurer, 1964-2004
  • Former Committee Member, 42 years
  • Former Deputy Chairman, Management Committee
  • Former Member, Building Committee
  • Life Member, 1983.

Mrs Helen Nance Pittman

For service to the community through a range of organisations

Woonona Women’s Bowling Club

  • President, 2019-2021
  • Publicity Officer, 2017-2020
  • Secretary, 2017-2019
  • Assistant Treasurer, 2014-2015
  • Charity Garage Sale Coordinator, since 2010
  • Facebook Marketplace Coordinator, since 2019
  • Annual Charity Bowls Days Committee, 2010-2020
  • Cancer Council Biggest Morning Tea Coordinator, 2002-2020
  • Member, since 2000

Community – Other

  • Board Member, Woonona Men’s and Women’s Bowling and Recreation Club, since 2019
  • Organiser, Cancer Council Biggest Morning Tea, Edgewood and Woonona Womens Bowling Club 2003-2019

Mr Kenneth Ronald Dixon
For service to youth, and to the community of the Central Coast.
Ettalong Memorial Bowling Club

  • Vice President, and Charity Bowls Coordinator, current.
  • Past President