Bowls Premier League: Adelaide and Tweed Heads confirm inaugural line-ups

by Domenic Favata

Recent additions to the Bowls Premier League (BPL), Adelaide and Tweed Heads, have confirmed the inaugural trio of players for their debut in the competition later this year.

Both licenses will join the BPL for its tenth instalment to be held at Queensland’s Club Pine Rivers from November 12-15 and their confirmed playing lists are sure to send an ominous warning to the rest of the competition.

Adelaide will resurrect two familiar names to the event in BCiB Australian Jackaroo Wayne Ruediger and South Australian state teammate Scott Thulborn, both former members of the Adelaide Endurance in the BPL and the latter most recently enjoying a stint with the Sydney Lions at BPL08.

They will also hand a BPL debut to one of Australia’s golden girls in Rebecca Van Asch, with the two-time Commonwealth Games gold medalist set to grace the competition for the first time.

Meanwhile, Tweed Heads have themselves named a formidable line-up for their entry into the event, securing the services of BCiB Australian Jackaroo and former Illawarra Gorillas star Aaron Teys, the only import in the team.

Teys will join fellow Jackaroo Chloe Stewart and Queensland state representative Kurt Brown, both products of the Tweed Heads Bowls Club and set to make their debuts in the competition.

In the coaches’ chair will be another Tweed local in Wayne Turley OAM, who has previously been involved as coach of the Murray Steamers.


Teams – 

Adelaide: Wayne Ruediger, Scott Thulborn, Rebecca Van Asch (Coach – TBC*)

Tweed Heads: Aaron Teys, Kurt Brown, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)

Further details surrounding official team names, colours, uniforms and/or personnel will be made in due course, as will announcements pertaining to existing BPL teams’ selection.

#BPL10 Teams:


Brisbane Pirates

Dandenong Club*

Melbourne Roys

Murray Steamers

Perth Suns

Sydney Lions

Tweed Heads*

Since its inception in 2013, the BPL has distributed more than $900,000 in prize-money to the participating teams.

#BPL10 will be staged from November 12-15 at Queensland’s Club Pine Rivers, with 20 hours of live broadcast coverage on Fox Sports Australia, Kayo Sports and Sky Sport NZ.