#BPL08: Pirates raid the treasure chest

by Aidan Davis

The Club Pine Rivers Brisbane Pirates have been crowned as Bowls Premier League (BPL) champions for the second time, after defeating the Moama Murray Steamers in straight sets in what was a gripping finale.

Having already been defeated by the table-topping Steamers in the Semi Final, the Pirates were forced to qualify for the final via the Preliminary Final, where they defeated the Melbourne Roys in a tie-break.

An electric Club Pine Rivers home crowd appeared to spur on the Pirates in the final, with spearhead Alex Marshall turning it on much to the locals’ delight.

Steamers star Ryan Bester was crowned tournament MVP following an impressive four days, while the Pirates’ Kelsey Cottrell was arguably the best-performed female.

The Pirates pocketed the $25,000 winners purse and will now set their sights on BPL09 when the event returns to the Naenae Bowls Club in Wellington, New Zealand in February, 2019.

Earlier in the day, Narrabri (NSW) were crowned BPL Cup champions following a straight sets victory over North Toowoomba (QLD).

Bowls Australia (BA) looks forward to the national club event returning in 2019.

Click here for all the final results/standings