#BPL13: Ospreys add another title to dynasty

by Lachlan Williams

The Tweed Heads Ospreys’ Bowls Premier League (BPL) dynasty is now complete, claiming the #BPL13 title to make it their third championship in four events.

The Ospreys were the dominant side all week at #BPL13 at Club Pine Rivers, dropping just one match on their way to winning the trophy and $25,000 cheque.

The Ospreys join the Sydney Lions as the most successful BPL franchise, with three titles each.

Taking on the Murray Steamers in a semi-final, the Ospreys managed their way through to the grand final thanks to some Aaron Teys magic.

Earlier in the night, home-team Brisbane Pirates were bundled out in straight sets by a dominant Lions outfit.

Ryan Bester was on song in the preliminary final against the Lions, steering his side into a second final in three events.

The Ospreys capped off an unbelievable week, with a thumping win over the Steamers in the final to make it back-to-back titles.

Tweed’s Aaron Teys was rewarded for his dominant week at #BPL13, claiming the tournament’s MVP award, his second.

Finals results from #BPL13 below:

Elimination Final

Sydney Lions def Brisbane Pirates 8-1, 8-1

Semi Final

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Murray Steamers 9-5, 3-4, 1-0

Preliminary Final

Murray Steamers def Sydney Lions 9-5, 8-1

#BPL13 Final

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Murray Steamers 12-2, 7-1

Bowls Premier League 13 – #BPL13

April 20-23, 2021
Club Pine Rivers, QLD
Day Sessions: From 11am AEST (Stream via Bowls Australia Facebook)
Night Sessions: From 5pm AEST (Watch live via Fox Sports & Kayo Sports)


Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Katelyn Inch (Coach – John Higgins)
Brisbane Pirates: Jeremy Henry, Aaron Hewson, Kelsey Cottrell (Coach – Michael Breen)
Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Mark Casey)
Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Matthew Flapper, Carla Krizanic (Coach – Ian Ewing)
Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, Michael Walker, Natasha Van Eldik (Coach – Kevin Anderson)
Perth Suns: Ray Pearse, Trystan Smallacombe, Dawn Hayman (Coach – Pieter Harris)
Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Aron Sherriff, Karen Murphy (Coach – Steve Glasson)
Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)