#BPL13: Teys claims second MVP honour

by Bowls Australia

Tweed Heads Ospreys superstar Aaron Teys has joined an illustrious group of bowlers to become a two-time Bowls Premier League (BPL) MVP after an astonishing tournament at Club Pine Rivers.

Teys was in sensational form throughout the week, single handedly getting the Ospreys out of trouble on numerous occasions as the franchise finished four games clear at the top of the BPL13 ladder.

The 27-year-old previously claimed the award at BPL10 for the Ospreys on the franchise’s debut at the same venue.

He joins the likes of Aron Sherriff, Ryan Bester, Scott Thulborn and Alex Marshall as multiple winners of the award, only Sherriff has more with three.

Teys finished the event with 35 votes, seven ahead of Brisbane Pirates star Jeremy Henry in second place.

Former winners Ryan Bester and Aron Sherriff claimed equal third, while Wayne Ruediger rounded out the top five after a stellar week for the Adelaide Pioneers.

Dawn Hayman’s efforts on BPL debut for the Perth Suns were recognised by coaches throughout the week, notching 19 votes to lead the vote tally for the female contingent of the competition.

#BPL13 MVP Top 5

Winner: Aaron Teys (Tweed Heads Ospreys) – 35 votes

Runner-up: Jeremy Henry (Brisbane Pirates) – 28 votes

=3rd: Ryan Bester (Murray Steamers) – 26 votes

=3rd: Aron Sherriff (Sydney Lions) – 26 votes

5th: Wayne Ruediger (Adelaide Pioneers) – 21 votes

Best female player: Dawn Hayman (Perth Suns) – 19 votes