Everything you need to know about the #WarillaWorldCup

by Domenic Favata

With the #WarillaWorldCup now underway, we give you the rundown on everything you need to know about the World Bowls event held on Aussie shores.

What is the #WarillaWorldCup?

The World Cup is a World Bowls-sanctioned international indoor singles event featuring male and female competitors from 24 countries.

When and where is it?

The World Cup gets underway today (March 5) and runs through to Wednesday, March 13. The event will be held at the Warilla Bowls and Recreation Club in the seaside suburb of Shellharbour, NSW.

How can I watch it?

Bowls Australia (BA) will be live streaming the final two days of the event (March 12 and 13), including all Semi-Finals and Finals from both the Men’s and Women’s fields.

What is the event format?

Four-bowl Singles, with Men’s and Women’s Sectional followed by finals.

Each match will consist of two sets, each set being played over 9 ends. The winner of the match being the best of two sets. (A match tie-breaker is not a set.)

In Sectional play, all 9 ends of a set must be completed. In knockout play, a set will be decided if, at any point, it becomes impossible for one player to draw or win the set given the number of ends left.

If the shot scores are tied after the last end of a set, the set is drawn. If the match is tied (two drawn sets or one set each) after the two sets have been completed, a match tie-breaker consisting of 3 ends will be played to determine the winner.

The match tie-breaker is decided by the winner of the total number of shots scored in the three ends.

Three points will be awarded for a match win and nil points for a match loss.

Who is playing?

As mentioned, players from 24 nations will be split over four sections.

Men’s – Section 1: Aaron Teys (Australia 2), Hirendra Bhartu (Canada), Tony Cheung (Hong Kong), Gary Kelly (Ireland), Soufi Rusli (Malaysia), Seamus Curtin (NZ), Ryan Dixon (Norfolk Island), Tan Kah Hock (Singapore), Tom Rogers (Spain), Thomas Walti (Switzerland), Uthen Ontong (Thailand), Ozkan Akar (Turkey)

Men’s Section 2: Jeremy Henry (Australia 1), Kushal Pillay (Fiji), Matt Le Ber (Guernsey), Moti Polak (Israel), Mervyn Edwards (Jamacia), Junji Goda (Japan), Su Hong Lam (Macao China), Brendan Aquilina (Malta), Frank de Vries (Netherlands), John Fleming (Scotland), Wayne Rittmuller (South Africa), Bob Schneider (United States)

Women’s – Section 1: Rebecca Van Asch (Australia), Josephine Lee (Canada), Litia Tikoisuva (Fiji), Rose Ogier (Guernsey 2), Hilda Tam (Macao China), Siti Zalina Ahmad (Malaysia), Connie Rixon (Malta), Carla Banks (Scotland), Shermeen Lim (Singapore), Patsorn Bryant (Thailand)

Women’s – Section 2: Lucy Beere (Guernsey 1), Phyllis Wong (Hong Kong China), Irit Grencel (Israel), Yoko Goda (Japan), Jo Edwards (NZ), Shae Wilson (Norfolk Island), Sonia Bruce (South Africa), Marianne Kuenzle (Switzerland), Dee McSparran (United States)

Who won the event last time? 

Jeremy Henry has smashed all Cup records, winning six times, including two hat-tricks (2012, 2013, 2014, plus 2016, 2017 and 2018).

On the other hand, Guernsey’s Lucy Beere took out the title last time out, defeating Rebecca Van Asch and Jo Edwards along the way on a giant-killing run.