Jackaroos confirmed for Multi-Nations and Trans Tasman Test Series

by Bowls Australia

Australian selectors have edged a step closer in determining the BCiB Australian Jackaroos to be charged with the nations’ hopes at next year’s World Bowls Championships, with team selections for the upcoming Multi-Nations and Trans Tasman Test Series.

The marquee international events will be staged back-to-back on the Gold Coast in November, with the Multi-Nations (November 18-24) leading into the annual Trans Tasman against New Zealand (November 25-27).

A 10-strong open contingent has been named for the Trans Tasman, which will also encompass an Over-60’s component for the first time, as well as the traditional opportunity for both nations to field Development teams.

Headlining the announcement for this event is a reshuffle among the coveted Singles spots, with 2018 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Aaron Wilson and 23-year-old Chloe Stewart both returning to singles duties.

Elsewhere, 2019 Golden Nugget winner Corey Wedlock has been rewarded for his excellent form as the third and final change from the team that secured four gold medals at the recent Asia Pacific Championships, with experienced trio Ray Pearse, Nathan Rice and Lynsey Clarke those to make way.

Kelsey Cottrell will return to Fours duties and see the ‘Golden Girls’ band back together following their heroics at last year’s Commonwealth Games, while continuing to skip in the Pairs.

Aaron Teys will join forces with New South Wales’ teammate Wilson in the Pairs, with Wedlock slotting into both Triples and Fours combinations.


A Development team, which will feature a mix of open-age and under-18 players, has also been named to take on their New Zealand counterparts, with selectors given an opportunity to cast their eye of the next batch of international aspirants.

A second Trans Tasman Test Series will be staged in early February next year, again on the Gold Coast and will act as the final opportunity for the Jackaroos to press their claims for a World Bowls Championships berth.

Following the 2020 event, New Zealand will then be afforded the hosting rights of consecutive Trans Tasman Test Series.

Serving as an entrée to what will be a 10-day festival of international bowls will be the Multi-Nations event, a seven-nation competition featuring South Africa, New Zealand, Malta, Norfolk Island, Canada, Ireland and Wales.

Australia will boast two teams in each gender’s event, aptly named Green and Gold respectively, with the full BCiB Australian Jackaroos squad to feature.

Dawn Hayman, the only current uncapped member of the top-tier Jackaroos, will become the 86th Australian women’s representative.

Jackaroos National Coach Steve Glasson said the National Selection Panel viewed both these events as important opportunities in identifying the team for 2020 World Bowls Championships.

“Both the Multi-Nations and Trans Tasman events serve as a terrific opportunity for our Jackaroos to press their claims for next year’s World Bowls Championships,” Glasson said.

“The Multi-Nations will feature the full contingent of BCiB Australian Jackaroos and will allow the coaches and selectors to analyse different combinations against some of the very best bowling nations in the world.

“We also look forward to resuming battle with our traditional rivals from New Zealand in the Trans Tasman Test Series, which will take on added significance with the inclusion of the ‘Senior Jackaroos’.”

See below for selected teams, in chronological order:

November 18-24
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
(Broadbeach, Helensvale & Musgrave Hill)

Australia Green

Lynsey Clarke (35, Helensvale, QLD)
Karen Murphy (44, Cabramatta, NSW)
Ellen Ryan (22, Cabramatta, NSW)
Natasha Scott (28, Raymond Terrace, NSW)
Chloe Stewart (23, Tweed Heads, QLD)
Barrie Lester (37, Melbourne, VIC)
Jesse Noronha (28, Warilla, NSW)
Aaron Teys (25, Warilla, NSW)
Corey Wedlock (23, Warilla, NSW)
Aaron Wilson (27, Cabramatta, NSW)

Australia Gold

Kelsey Cottrell (29, St Johns Park, NSW)
Dawn Hayman (22, St Johns Park, NSW)
Carla Krizanic (29, Sunbury, VIC)
Kristina Krstic (25, Manning, WA)
Rebecca Van Asch (31, Invermay, TAS)
Ray Pearse (35, Cabramatta, NSW)
Nathan Rice (40, Helensvale, QLD)
Wayne Ruediger (43, Grange, SA)
Aron Sherriff (33, Helensvale, QLD)
Ben Twist (29, St Johns Park, NSW)

Trans Tasman Test Series
November 25-27
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
(Broadbeach, Helensvale & Musgrave Hill)

Open Team


Singles: Chloe Stewart
Pairs: Chloe Stewart, Kelsey Cottrell
Triples: Carla Krizanic, Natasha Scott, Rebecca Van Asch
Fours: Kelsey Cottrell, Carla Krizanic, Rebecca Van Asch, Natasha Scott


Singles: Aaron Wilson
Pairs: Aaron Teys, Aaron Wilson
Triples: Barrie Lester, Corey Wedlock, Aron Sherriff
Fours: Barrie Lester, Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Aron Sherriff

Development Team

Dawn Hayman
Ellen Ryan
Jesse Noronha
Ben Twist
Tiffany Brodie (21, St Kilda, VIC)
Bolivia Millerick (25, Broadbeach, QLD)
Jayden Christie (20, Helensvale, QLD)
Carl Healey (32, Cabramatta, NSW)

* Ages as of the time of publishing

* Two Under-18 players to be added to Trans Tasman Development Team at the conclusion of the 2019 Australian Under-18 Championships.

* Trans Tasman Test Series will return to its traditional format, whereby players will only be permitted to change positions in their respective discipline.