Locals continue to dominate Aus Champ of Champs

by Aidan Davis

The local hopes continue to dominate the 2018 Australian Champion of Champions, with defending champion Lee Schraner and 17-year-old Lauren Banks among those to remain undefeated heading into the final day of the round-robin event.

They were joined by Victorian Kylie Whitehead, who has also progressed through to Friday’s final two matches without a loss.

In the Mens’ field, Schraner leads all-comers on top of the standings, with Barrie Lester trailing not far behind in second, having lost his Round 5 match by a single shot to sit a win behind the Tasmanian.

The two meet in the final session of play on Friday and with Lester’s superior shot difference (+27), the gold-medal opportunity is still very much wide open.

Whitehead sits at the top of the Womens’ field, on equal wins with Banks but with a +17 superior shot difference. The two will also meet in the final session of play on Friday.

Bowls Australia (BA) will again be delivering Rinkside Live streaming to your devices on the final day of play, with our featured match plus crosses to a secondary rink per session.

Be sure to LIKE the Bowls Australia Facebook page to be notified when we are LIVE!

See below for a snapshot of the results from Day 2:

Round 4 –

Mens’ Singles (MS)

VIC def. NT – 21-5
ACT def. WA – 21-10
QLD def. SA – 21-9
TAS def. NSW – 21-20

Womens’ Singles

VIC def. NT – 21-12
WA def. ACT – 21-16
TAS def. NSW – 21-9
Bye – SA

Round 5 –


NSW def. SA – 21-18
ACT def. NT – 21-7
WA def. VIC – 21-20
TAS def. QLD – 21-18


ACT def. NT – 21-20
VIC def. WA – 21-3
SA def. NSW – 21-16
Bye – TAS

Click here to view the Mens’ Singles standings
Click here to view the Womens’ Singles standings


Mens’ Singles: Mac Mclean (ACT), David Ferguson (NSW), Mark Malogorski (NT), Ryan Bester (QLD), Wayne Ruediger (SA), Lee Schraner (TAS), Barrie Lester (VIC), Warren Holt (WA).

Womens’ Singles: Anette Tye (ACT), Lee Benson (NSW), Shenayde Heldt (NT), Sandy Wallace (SA), Lauren Banks (TAS), Bev Scott (WA), No competitor (QLD – Lynsey Clarke*)