National finalists locked in for 2019 BPL Cup

by Lachlan Williams

Bowls clubs from across Australia put their best foot forward over the past several weeks in an effort to qualify for the 2019 BPL Cup finals.

State finals got under way in Victoria, New South Wales and Western Australia last weekend, with clubs vying for qualification to compete at the third instalment of the event’s finals at Club Pine Rivers in November.

Ocean Grove, Beaumaris and Essendon won through to the national finals after a successful day at the Victorian state finals at Dandenong, while Charlestown, Harrington and Merrylands will fly the flag for New South Wales at Pine Rivers.

South Perth dominated the Western Australia qualification, with three sides from the one club winning their way to the national finals.

In previous qualifiers, ACT club Belconnen will make the trip to the finals, joined by Queensland clubs Edge Hill and Enoggera, South Australians Bute and Lockleys and sole Tasmanian representative East Launceston.

Northern Territory is yet to host its state finals.

The competition continues to grow across Australia, with 150 teams competing in Western Australia qualifiers alone.

“It was great to see so many clubs get involved.  The response this year has been great, and the split across regions was shown in the eight teams that qualified for State finals,” WA Regional Bowls Manager Clive Adams said.

The unique competition enables players from all over Australia to enter at club level, progress through regional and state qualifying, and earn a place on the big stage next to the world’s best competing in the Bowls Premier League.

Flights, accommodation, rinkside corporate box seats for the televised BPL matches, as well as supporters gear for their adopted BPL team are just some of the prizes to be enjoyed by those that earn a place at the national event.

The 2019 BPL Cup finals will run from November 10, with the final to be played on November 14.

Clubs that wish to be involved in next season’s BPL Cup events should watch for registration opportunities later this year, or contact their Regional Bowls Manager to register interest.

2019 BPL Cup national finalists

ACT: Belconnen

NSW: Charlestown, Harrington, Merrylands

Northern Territory: TBC

Queensland: Edge Hill, Enoggera

South Australia: Bute, Lockleys

Tasmania: East Launceston

Victoria: Ocean Grove, Essendon, Beaumaris

Western Australia: South Perth, South Perth, South Perth