Newest Bowls Australia Hall of Fame and Legends inductees announced

by Lachlan Williams

Prominent figures within Australian bowls will be recognised for their outstanding achievements at Bowls Australia’s 2019 Hall of Fame and Awards Night in October.

The Hall of Fame will grow by four, with Edda Bonutto, Don Sherman, Brett Duprez and Brett Wilkie all earning induction to the exclusive club.

Bonutto was a large contributor to Queensland bowls as well as a top performer for Australia, winning a Commonwealth Games pairs silver medal as well as an Asia Pacific Games Gold in the early 1990s.

Don Sherman was part of the fours team that created history in 1982, winning Australia’s first ever Commonwealth Games bowls gold medal. He also coached the national side between 1996 and 1999.

Duprez managed more than 150 caps for Australia, winning several international medals including Commonwealth Games gold in 1998 and World Bowls Championship bronze and silver.

Wilkie boasts an impressive international record, with more than 250 international appearances to his name and medals at major events across the world spanning across a decade.

There will also be five Hall of Fame members elevated to Legend status, joining existing Legends Glyn Bosisto MBE, Rex Johnston OAM and Kelvin Kerkow OAM.

Keith Poole MBE, Norma Massey OAM, Merle Richardson OAM, John Dobbie AM and Daphne Shaw will all be elevated to Legends following their Hall of Fame inductions in 2011.

Poole skippered the 1982 Commonwealth Games four gold medal win and represented Queensland more than 500 times, and Australia on 176 occasions.

Massey was a member of the first Australian women’s bowls team that played South Africa in a test match in 1967, representing her country 101 times.

Richardson dominated for NSW and Australia from the 1960s to the early 1990s, including World Bowls Championships singles and pairs titles in 1985.

Dobbie was one of Australia’s most successful exponents of lawn bowls and also played a key role away from the green, serving in several key positions including as Executive Director of World Bowls.

Shaw was part of Australia’s women’s fours team that claimed gold at the 1990 Commonwealth Games in Auckland – the first Australian women to win Commonwealth Games gold in the sport. She is also a four-times world champion.

Hall of Fame and Legend inductions occur every second year.

Tickets for the 2019 Hall of Fame and Awards Night, to occur at Mantra on View on October 30, are now available to be purchased online, priced at $135.00 per person (plus processing fees), and includes a three-course meal and drinks packages.

2019 Bowls Australia Hall of Fame Inductees

Edda Bonutto (deceased)

Brett Duprez

Don Sherman (deceased)

Brett Wilkie

2019 Bowls Australia Hall of Fame Legend Inductees

John Dobbie AM (deceased)

Norma Massey OAM (deceased)

Keith Poole MBE (deceased)

Merle Richardson OAM

Daphne Shaw