Tasmanian pathways squad selected

by Val Febbo

Seven players have been selected as part of the Tasmanian Pathways Squad as they look to further progress their careers in the sport of Bowls.

National selectors, including head coach Gary Willis and Tasmania’s Pathways Coach Chris Dudman have selected the young crop of players to continue to develop the talent from the Apple Isle.

The age of the seven members ranges from 17 to 24-years, with Isaac Maughan the youngest selected and Taelyn Male the oldest.

Male recently represented Tasmania valiantly at the Australian Champion of Champions at Dandenong, finishing in fifth place with a closely fought contest against BCiB Jackaroo Corey Wedlock.

Maughan joins the group with his older sister Jorja, who is one of three women in the squad alongside Lauren Banks and Makayla Gibson.

William Coad and Lachlan Sims round out the men’s quartet.

National Coach Gary Willis said he was excited at the prospect of welcoming this talented group into Bowls Australia’s High Performance program.

“It is great to see these players rewarded in recognition for their ongoing commitment and achievements,” Willis said.

“They are all in very good hands with our Tasmanian Pathways Coach Chris Dudman, who will provide them with invaluable experience and expertise for their ongoing development.

“It is a wonderful opportunity for all and I look forward to seeing another Tassie legend follow in the footsteps of Rebecca Van Asch from this group.”

Tasmanian Pathways Coach Chris Dudman said he was thrilled with the calibre of players that he will be working with.

“As the Tasmanian Pathways Coach, I’m really excited with crop of Tasmanian talent,” Dudman said.

“I would like to thank the national selection panel, alongside our National Coach, for endorsing these athletes into the Pathways Program.

“I am Looking forward to being part of this great initiative giving our Tasmanian players a shot in furthering their bowls ambitions.”


Lauren Banks
(19 – New Norfolk Bowls Club)
Makayla Gibson (22 – Penguin Bowls Club)
Jorja Maughan
(18 – Buckingham Bowls Club)


Taelyn Male (24 – Burnie Bowls Club)
Isaac Maughan (17 – Buckingham Bowls Club)
William Coad (22 – Kingborough Bowls Club)
Lachlan Sims (20 – Trevallyn Bowls Club)