Teams for BPL13 announced

by Val Febbo

Despite a quick 53-day turnaround between the most recent Bowls Premier League and the impending BPL13 at Brisbane’s Club Pine Rivers, four team changes have been made in preparation form April 20-23, 2021.

The Perth Suns, Adelaide Pioneers, Murray Steamers and the Brisbane Pirates have all announced alterations to their squads for the second of three BPL tournaments this year.

As previously revealed, Perth will bring in Cody Packer and Kristina Krstic to replace Lee Schraner and Genevieve Delves, with Ray Pearse remaining from Moama.

After finishing as runner-up last time out, the Pioneers have added Katelyn Inch to their roster, alongside reigning MVP Scott Thulborn and BCiB Jackaroo Wayne Ruediger, with Rebecca Van Asch stepping aside for this edition.

Inch’s BPL12 team, the Murray Steamers, have filled her spot with Natasha Van Eldik, who will join stalwarts Ryan Bester and Michael Walker in the two-time champions’ squad.

The host team’s Brisbane Pirates have regained the experienced head of Kelsey Cottrell, who replaces young superstar Kira Bourke.

Jeremy Henry and Aaron Hewson will round out the Pirates camp, who will aim to get back into the finals, after narrowly missing out on the Murray.

The defending champions Tweed Heads, three-time winners Sydney Lions and both Melbourne franchises, the Pulse and the Roys, go into BPL13 with an unchanged line-up.

Aaron Teys, Chloe Stewart and Corey Wedlock will return for the Ospreys, while Aron Sherriff, Ben Twist and Karen Murphy complete the famous Sydney Lions trio.

The top of the table Pulse retain Gary Kelly, Barrie Lester and Ellen Ryan, while the Roys will continue its quest for a maiden title with familiar combatants Matthew Flapper, Aaron Wilson and Carla Krizanic.

Teams (#BPL13)

Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Katelyn Inch (Coach – Les Carter)
Brisbane Pirates: Jeremy Henry, Aaron Hewson, Kelsey Cottrell (Coach – Michael Breen)
Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Mark Casey)
Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Matthew Flapper, Carla Krizanic (Coach – Ian Ewing)
Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, Michael Walker, Natasha Van Eldik (Coach – Kevin Anderson)
Perth Suns: Cody Packer, Ray Pearse, Kristina Krstic (Coach – Pieter Harris)
Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Aron Sherriff, Karen Murphy (Coach – Steve Glasson)
Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)

Stay tuned to the Bowls Australia website for further updates regarding BPL13, beginning in just 27-days.