Two inclusions among the BCiB Australian Jackaroos squad

by Aidan Davis

Two new additions have been named among the BCiB Australian Jackaroos squad for the new year, alongside a host of inclusions for the feeder Emerging Jackaroos and Para-Sport teams, and the formation of a new third-tier Pathways Jackaroos squad.

Raymond Terrace’s Genevieve Delves and Cabramatta’s Carl Healey headline the announcement, after being earmarked as potential future international representatives with promotion to the top-tier Jackaroos squad for the next 12 months.

The other 17 players in the main Jackaroos contingent remain unchanged, as they build towards the staging of the World Bowls Championships on the Gold Coast in September, where 10 will be entrusted with replicating the nation’s success achieved in the last two events, having amassed nine gold, four silver and one bronze across the 16 disciplines.

Reigning Female Bowler of the Year, Delves, and 2018 Australian Open men’s pairs champion, Healey, both paved their course through the national feeder team, the Emerging Jackaroos, which also boasts numerous additions, off the back of the recent employment of new state-specific Pathways Coaches to help with their development.

South Australia’s Nathan Black, Western Australia’s Cody Packer, Victoria’s Kylie Whitehead and Jay Bye-Norris, and Queensland’s Nick Cahill, Matt Lucas, Cassandra Millerick and brothers Jacob and Kane Nelson have all been elevated to contracted Emerging Jackaroos status, where they will work closely with both the Pathways Coaches and national High Performance coaching personnel.

With Emerging Jackaroos players eligible for selection in non-benchmark international events, national selectors have declared that additional appointments could be made throughout the year to reward and develop consistent contributors.

2018 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Josh Thornton has marked a return to the Para-Sport squad, after making himself unavailable for selection for work and family reasons after scaling the dais on the Gold Coast, as preparations for the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games begin to increase rapidly.

While the other Athletes with a Disability and Vision-Impaired line-ups remain unchanged, selectors have earmarked the possibility of future inclusions among the Para-Sport squad at some stage throughout the year.

Eight prospective future national representatives will get the opportunity to hone their skills and ply their trade under the guidance of recently appointed Pathways Coaches, with the creation of a new third-tier Pathways Jackaroos squad.

South Australia’s Kate Argent-Bowden, Grace Moloney, Tyson Wilson and Jayden Zeller, Queensland’s Cassandra Millerick, and Victoria’s Tyson Cromie, Brendan Gallagher and Dean O’Neil are the inaugural appointees to the development group.

While not contracted or expected to meet the same athlete performance or training requirements as the other squads, the over-60s-based Senior Jackaroos team remains unchanged following November 2019’s Trans Tasman Test Series.

“It’s really exciting to announce the elite Jackaroos Squad members for 2021 with the addition of Genevieve and Carl,” National Coach Steve Glasson OAM said.

“Just as exciting is the opportunity to grow the emerging squad with some outstanding prospects getting the nod; to be able to grow the program through the Pathways Program following generous support from the AIS also provides the opportunity to develop longer term prospects which will ensure Australia continues to produce world class athletes well into the future.”

The squads will remain in place for the next 12 months and will be reviewed again by the national selection panel in advance of the Birmingham Commonwealth Games, which could favour highly regarded heavy-greens players.

BCiB Australian Jackaroos – Women
Lynsey Clarke (37, Tweed Heads, QLD)
Kelsey Cottrell (30, St Johns Park, NSW)
Genevieve Delves (42, Raymond Terrace, NSW)
Dawn Hayman (23, St Johns Park, NSW)
Carla Krizanic (30, Sunbury, VIC)
Kristina Krstic (26, Manning Memorial, WA)
Ellen Ryan (23, Cabramatta, NSW)
Chloe Stewart (25, Tweed Heads, QLD)
Rebecca Van Asch (32, Invermay, TAS)
Natasha Van Eldik (30, Raymond Terrace, NSW)

BCiB Australian Jackaroos – Men
Carl Healey (33, Cabramatta, NSW)
Barrie Lester (38, Burleigh Heads, QLD)
Jesse Noronha (29, Cabramatta, NSW)
Wayne Ruediger (44, Grange, SA)
Aron Sherriff (35, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Aaron Teys (27, Warilla, NSW)
Ben Twist (30, St Johns Park, NSW)
Corey Wedlock (24, Warilla, NSW)
Aaron Wilson (29, Cabramatta, NSW)

Emerging Jackaroos
Nathan Black (West Lakes, SA), Kira Bourke (Tweed Heads, QLD), Jay Bye-Norris (Lilydale, VIC), Nick Cahill (Tweed Heads, QLD), Jayden Christie (Club Helensvale, QLD), Jarryd Davies (Glenroy, VIC), Mason Lewis (Engadine, NSW), Matt Lucas (Enoggera, QLD), Bolivia Millerick (Broadbeach, QLD), Cassandra Millerick (Broadbeach, QLD), Jacob Nelson (Belmont Services, QLD), Kane Nelson (Belmont Services, QLD), Cody Packer (Osborne Park, WA), Jake Rynne (North Toowoomba, QLD), Brianna Smith (St Johns Park, NSW), Joshua Studham (Holdfast Bay, SA), Kylie Whitehead (Wodonga, VIC)

Para-Sport Jackaroos
AWD – Joshua Barry (Deer Park, VIC), Barry Brennan (Moama, VIC), Tony Bonnell (Broadbeach, QLD), Chris Flavel (Payneham, SA), Joshua Thornton (Murray Downs, VIC)
Vision Impaired – Jake Fehlberg (Burleigh Heads, QLD – Director Grant Fehlberg), Lynne Seymour (Thuringowa, QLD – Director Bob Seymour)

Pathways Jackaroos
Kate Argent-Bowden (Angaston, SA), Grace Moloney (Athurton, SA), Tyson Cromie (Yarrawonga, VIC), Brendan Gallagher (VIC), Dean O’Neil (Bundoora RSL, VIC), Tyson Wilson (Grange, SA), Jayden Zeller (Holdfast Bay, SA)

Senior Jackaroos
Sam Laguzza (NSW), Steve Sullivan (VIC), John Bain (QLD), Terry Warder (NSW), Robbie Warren (NSW), Noelene Abe (WA), Beth Quinlan (NSW), Betty Herbertson (NSW), Anne Miles (VIC), Louise Witton (QLD)