2019 Australian Champion of Champions: SA & NSW in the box seat

by Domenic Favata

The South Australian and New South Welsh representatives in the 2019 Australian Champion of Champions are in the box seat following the first day of play at South Perth Bowls Club, seeing through the opening three rounds without defeat.

Renata Callisto (SA), Dawn Hayman (NSW), Simon Geater-Johnson (SA) and Ray Pearse (NSW) set the pace in the beautiful Western Australian sunshine on Day 1, with both states producing big scalps in Round 3.

The South Australians emerged successfully from their dangerous tie against Queensland, while New South Wales got the better of Victoria in a blockbuster tie.

Perhaps the ‘Play of the Day’ belonged to Callisto in the dying stages on Day 1, producing a sensational last bowl delivery to win against Queensland’s Katelyn Inch after scores were locked at 20 apiece heading into the final end.

Men’s standings:

Women’s standings:

Rinkside Live replays:

Round 1:

Round 2:

Round 3: