Bowls Premier League (BPL)

The Bowls Premier League (BPL) is the sport’s made-for-television, showpiece event.

Staged biannually*, at Queensland’s Club Pine Rivers in November and New South Wales/Victoria border club Moama in February, the event was designed to change people’s perception of our sport.

The BPL is the 20/20 of bowls, it’s fast, it’s loud, it attracts the world’s best bowlers and it appeals to non-bowlers who once upon a time may have seen bowls in a different light.

The players have embraced the BPL format and done a terrific job entertaining the crowds at the host venues and back at home tuning into the live broadcast on Fox Sports, Kayo Sports and Sky Sport NZ.

Bowls Premier League 12 – #BPL12

February 23-26, 2021
Moama Bowling Club, NSW
Day Sessions: From 10:30am/11:00am AEDT (Stream live via Bowls Australia Facebook)
Night Sessions: From 5:00pm AEDT (Watch live via Fox Sports, Kayo Sports & Sky Sport NZ)

Teams (#BPL12)

Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Rebecca Van Asch (Coach – Les Carter)
Brisbane Pirates: Jeremy Henry, Aaron Hewson, Kira Bourke (Coach – Michael Breen)
Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Mark Casey)
Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Matthew Flapper, Carla Krizanic (Coach – Ian Ewing)
Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, Michael Walker, Katelyn Inch (Coach – David Ferguson)
Perth Suns: Lee Schraner, Cody Packer, Kristina Krstic (Coach – Pieter Harris)
Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Aron Sherriff, Karen Murphy (Coach – Steve Glasson)
Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)

Event Format & Rules

Each of the eight BPL teams will play each other twice over 14 rounds during the competition. At the end of the 14 qualifying rounds, the top four teams will play off in Friday night’s finals series.

The top four teams are decided by points. If teams are equal on points they will be split on net total shots (shots for minus shots against).

Each match consists of two five-end sets, with a one-end tie-break played if required. The game format pairs, with three bowls for each player per end. BPL matches take just over one hour from start to finish and deciding the winner is simple. The team with that wins both sets or one set and then the tie-break is the winner.

Instead of spending time rolling the jack, as per normal competitions, BPL players place the mat and advise the marker the length of the jack they would like to play to.

To keep games progressing, players will have 30 seconds to deliver their bowl from the time the jack is placed at the start of an end, or once their opposition bowl has come to a rest, ensuring the next suspenseful result is only moments away.

BPL teams will also be able to nominate one Power Play end per set, enabling teams to earn double the shots scored in that end.

Some days players just aren’t on top of their game, maybe its only for a few ends, maybe its for a whole match, in order to get the best players the sport has to offer out on the green, a team coach can replace a player with a substitute during the game, but only immediately preceding the delivery of a bowl by their team player.

If a tie-break is required to decide the winner, all players on both teams will take to the green, with the format changing to two-bowl-triples for that end.

Honour Roll








2013 APL01 Brisbane Brisbane Gold 7-4, 8-2 Adelaide Endurance Scott Thulborn (Adelaide Endurance)
2014 APL02 Murray Steamers 6-2, 5-3 Adelaide Endurance Alex Marshall (Murray Steamers)
2015 APL03 New Zealand Blackjacks 6-3, 0-8, 1-0 Adelaide Endurance Mark Casey (Gold Coast Hawks)
2016 BPL04 Sydney Lions 6-4, 10-6 Murray Steamers Ryan Bester (Murray Steamers)
2017 BPL05 Auckland (NZ) Sydney Lions 3-2, 6-3 New Zealand Blackjacks Shannon McIlroy (New Zealand Blackjacks)
BPL06 Brisbane Sydney Lions 10-0, 8-1 Illawarra Gorillas Aron Sherriff (Sydney Lions)
2018 BPL07 Lower Hutt (NZ) Gold Coast Hawks 5-3, 7-7 Brisbane Pirates Aron Sherriff (Gold Coast Hawks)
BPL08 Brisbane Brisbane Pirates 9-2, 6-2 Murray Steamers Ryan Bester (Murray Steamers)
2019 BPL09 Lower Hutt (NZ) Illawarra Gorillas 6-9, 7-1, 1-0 Brisbane Pirates Alex Marshall (Brisbane Pirates)
BPL10 Brisbane Tweed Heads Ospreys 9-0, 8-1 Sydney Lions Aaron Teys (Tweed Heads Ospreys)
2020 BPL11 Moama Murray Steamers 6-1, 3-11, 1-0 Melbourne Roys

Aron Sherriff (Sydney Lions) &

Aaron Wilson (Melbourne Roys)

* BPL was formerly known as the APL – Australian Premier League