#BPL13: Ospreys dominance continues, Lions claw back

by Lachlan Williams

The #BPL13 table began to take shape on the second day of play at Club Pine Rivers on Wednesday, with the reigning champions extending their form and former winners finding some of their own.

Tweed Heads Ospreys continued their perfect start to the competition, going through four more rounds without a loss.

The Ospreys have picked up where they left off at BPL12, now on a 12-match BPL winning streak.

The Ospreys are now all but locked in to be playing finals on Friday night.

After a slow start to #BPL13, the formidable Sydney Lions found their groove on day two, notching up three wins and narrowly falling short of a perfect day with a tight round eight loss to the Murray Steamers.

Similarly to the Lions, the Adelaide Pioneers are back in action after a lacklustre first four matches, moving up to third behind the Lions, with four wins to their name.

Murray and Melbourne Roys both also sit on four wins, making for an intriguing third day of play on Thursday.

The Brisbane Pirates and Perth Suns have been in the mix and sit one win off the pace each, while things haven’t gone to plan for the Melbourne Pulse so far, with plenty of work to do to pinch a finals place.

Play will resume from 11am AEST at Club Pine Rivers on Thursday. Day games will be streamed live on Bowls Australia’s Facebook page.

Progress results from #BPL13 below:

Round 5 – 

Adelaide Pioneers def Perth Suns 4-3, 4-2

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Melbourne Pulse 1-9, 10-7, 1-0

Melbourne Roys def by Murray Steamers 7-9, 1-11

Brisbane Pirates def by Sydney Lions 3-8, 7-1, 0-2

Round 6 – 

Brisbane Pirates def by Melbourne Roys 4-7, 3-6

Adelaide Pioneers def Murray Steamers 7-3, 5-9, 1-0

Melbourne Pulse def by Sydney Lions 2-10, 4-9

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Perth Suns 5-6, 5-1, 2-0

Round 7 –

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Melbourne Roys 7-3, 8-6

Adelaide Pioneers def by Sydney Lions 2-6, 2-11

Melbourne Pulse def Perth Suns 4-4, 6-1

Brisbane Pirates def Murray Steamers 11-5, 9-1

Round 8 – 

Melbourne Pulse def by Adelaide Pioneers 4-12, 2-7

Perth Suns def Melbourne Roys 2-5, 6-3, 1-0

Brisbane Pirates def by Tweed Heads Ospreys 7-3, 4-5, 2-0

Murray Steamers def Sydney Lions 11-1, 1-7 2-0

Bowls Premier League 13 – #BPL13

April 20-23, 2021
Club Pine Rivers, QLD
Day Sessions: From 11am AEST (Stream via Bowls Australia Facebook)
Night Sessions: From 5pm AEST (Watch live via Fox Sports & Kayo Sports)


Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Katelyn Inch (Coach – John Higgins)
Brisbane Pirates: Jeremy Henry, Aaron Hewson, Kelsey Cottrell (Coach – Michael Breen)
Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Mark Casey)
Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Matthew Flapper, Carla Krizanic (Coach – Ian Ewing)
Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, Michael Walker, Natasha Van Eldik (Coach – Kevin Anderson)
Perth Suns: Ray Pearse, Trystan Smallacombe, Dawn Hayman (Coach – Pieter Harris)
Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Aron Sherriff, Karen Murphy (Coach – Steve Glasson)
Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)