#BPL13: Pirates pinch last-gasp finals spot

by Lachlan Williams

The four teams competing in the #BPL13 finals have been locked in after a thrilling conclusion to the round robin play on Friday afternoon.

Going into the day, Tweed Heads could not be moved from top spot, going on to win both games from the final two rounds, breaking the record for most wins at a BPL, winning 13 of 14 matches.

Murray Steamers needed just one win to lock in second spot, doing so with a round 13 victory over the Adelaide Pirates.

Heading into the final round, the Melbourne Roys, Brisbane Pirates, Perth Suns, Sydney Lions and Pioneers were all vying for two remaining finals spots.

The Lions secured third place with a win over Adelaide, knocking the South Australian team out of finals contention.

The Roys also lost, leaving the final top four spot between the Pirates and Suns.

The Pirates suffered a heavy loss to the Steamers, but the Suns fell short against the Melbourne Pulse in a tie-break to fall agonisingly short of fourth spot.

The Pioneers and Suns missed out on finals due to net set points, with the Roys just one win back in seventh spot.

The results mean the Pirates will play the Lions in front of a vocal home crowd at Club Pine Rivers to kick off finals night.

Finals action will commence from 5pm AEST at Club Pine Rivers on Friday. The Finals will be broadcast live on Fox Sports, Kayo and Sky Sport NZ.

Progress results from #BPL13 below:

Round 13 – 

Adelaide Pioneers def by Murray Steamers 0-10, 9-0 0-1

Melbourne Pulse def by Sydney Lions 5-7, 3-6

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Perth Suns 9-4, 5-2

Brisbane Pirates def Melbourne Roys 9-4, 6-2

Round 14 – 

Sydney Lions def Adelaide Pioneers 8-5, 8-1

Tweed Heads Ospreys def Melbourne Roys 8-1, 8-1

Brisbane Pirates def by Murray Steamers 0-14, 0-9

Melbourne Pulse def Perth Suns 5-10, 7-5, 1-0

Bowls Premier League 13 – #BPL13

April 20-23, 2021
Club Pine Rivers, QLD
Day Sessions: From 11am AEST (Stream via Bowls Australia Facebook)
Night Sessions: From 5pm AEST (Watch live via Fox Sports & Kayo Sports)


Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Katelyn Inch (Coach – John Higgins)
Brisbane Pirates: Jeremy Henry, Aaron Hewson, Kelsey Cottrell (Coach – Michael Breen)
Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Mark Casey)
Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Matthew Flapper, Carla Krizanic (Coach – Ian Ewing)
Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, Michael Walker, Natasha Van Eldik (Coach – Kevin Anderson)
Perth Suns: Ray Pearse, Trystan Smallacombe, Dawn Hayman (Coach – Pieter Harris)
Sydney Lions: Ben Twist, Aron Sherriff, Karen Murphy (Coach – Steve Glasson)
Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)