World Champion of Champions

Adelaide to host 2019 and 2020 World Champion of Champions

South Australia’s Adelaide Bowling Club is set to become the envy of the bowls world, after being awarded the rights to host the 2019 and 2020 World Singles Champion of Champions events.

Adelaide, which has secured the rights to the prestigious competition ahead of a number of larger clubs both in Australia and abroad, is ideally placed to host the coveted event, which is contested annually by those male and female bowlers from World Bowls member nations who have won their respective national titles.

The announcement from World Bowls and Bowls Australia today extends the marquee international competition’s long association with Australia; which by the conclusion of the 2020 event will have hosted nine out of 18 editions.

It also continues the nation’s trend of procuring the sport’s biggest events in recent years, with the World Champion of Champions held at the Gold Coast’s Club Helensvale in 2015 and 2016, followed by Sydney’s St Johns Park in 2017 and later this year, while the 2019 Asia Pacific Championships and 2020 World Bowls Championships will also be contested across three Gold Coast clubs.

World Bowls CEO Gary Smith applauded Adelaide for winning the competitive tender process and praised the unsuccessful candidates for their submissions.

“The Board was delighted with the level of interest shown in hosting this increasingly popular, prestigious World Bowls event in 2019 and 2020 and congratulate South Australia’s Adelaide Bowling Club in the knowledge that they will be worthy hosts who will maintain and build upon the high standards set by previous host clubs,” Smith said.

“This event provides the opportunity for all bowlers entering their national singles in our Member Nations the potential to fulfil their dreams of becoming a World Champion.”

Bowls Australia CEO Neil Dalrymple said he was delighted that Adelaide had been awarded the rights to host one of the sport’s premier international titles for a two-year period.

“The announcement that Adelaide Bowling Club has been successful in procuring the 2019 and 2020 editions of this prestigious event is a coup for the club, the state and the nation,” Dalrymple said.

“Australia has a particularly strong association with this event, both in the staging and winning of the competitions, so it’s pleasing to see it continue to be hosted on our shores and I’m sure that Adelaide will be outstanding host venue.”

Bowls SA CEO Mark Easton was confident Adelaide Bowling Club would impress international audiences and put South Australia on the global bowls map.

“This announcement by World Bowls supports Bowls SA’s strategic direction to build its profile by securing world class events,” Easton said.

“We are ecstatic that the Adelaide Bowling Club, one of the sport’s premiere facilities in the state of South Australia, have landed the rights to host this showcase event, and we look forward to welcoming bowlers from around the world to our wonderful city.”

Adelaide Bowling Club President John Higgens said the announcement was a triumph for the entire state.

“We’re very excited and very proud, and we’re happy for the whole of South Australia to have landed the event, not just the Adelaide Bowling Club,” Higgins said.

“Its location is its greatest aspect, it’s a beautiful venue, close to the city with fantastic hospitality.”

While Australia has been particularly successful in securing hosting rights for this event, it’s also been dominant on the green, with its athletes having enjoyed more success at the event than any other nation.

Eight Australians have claimed the coveted titles, including reigning champion Aaron Teys (2017), Adelaide’s own Scott Thulborn (2016), Natasha Scott (2016), Karen Murphy (2013), Aron Sherriff (2010), Brett Wilkie and Kelsey Cottrell (2009), and Leif Selby (2008).

Australia’s combatants earn a berth on the world stage by virtue of winning the Australian Champion of Champions event, with Darwin’s Colleen Orr and Rosny Park’s Lee Schraner set to contest the 2018 World Champion of Champions at NSW’s St Johns Park from October 29 to November 4.

While South Australia has played host to some of the sport’s biggest international competitions over the years, including the 1996 and 2012 World Bowls Championships, this announcement marks the first time the state will stage the World Singles Champion of Champions.

Bowls Australia congratulates Adelaide Bowling Club on securing the 2019 and 2020 World Singles Champion of Champions events.

World Champion of Champion winners

Year Venue Women Men
2003 Moama, Australia  Liz James (SWZ)  Douw Calitz (NAM)
2004 Warilla, Australia  Margaret Johnston (IRE)  Ali Forsyth (NZL)
2005 Christchurch, New Zealand  Nor Iryani Azmi (MAS)  Mark Walton (ENG)
2006 Christchurch, New Zealand  Julie Saunders (ENG)  Darren Burnett (SCO)
2007 Warilla, Australia  Alison Merrien (GGY)  Tony Grantham (NZL)
2008 Aberdeen, Scotland  Kathy Pearce (WAL)  Leif Selby (AUS)
2009 Ayr, Scotland  Kelsey Cottrell (AUS)  Brett Wilkie (AUS)
2010 Norfolk Island  Jan Khan (NZL)  Aron Sherriff (AUS)
2011 Hong Kong, China  Jo Edwards (NZL)  Thomas Geechan (JER)
2012 Paphos, Cyprus  Sandra Keith (NZL)  Hizlee Abdul Rais (MAS)
2013 Christchurch, New Zealand  Karen Murphy (AUS)  Thomas Bishop (ENG)
2014 Christchurch, New Zealand  Lorna Smith (SCO)  Iain McLean (SCO)
2015 Brisbane, Australia  Emma Firyani Saroji (MAS)  Neil Mulholland (IRE)
2016 Brisbane, Australia  Natasha Scott (AUS)  Scott Thulborn (AUS)
2017 Sydney, Australia  Laura Daniels (WAL)  Aaron Teys (AUS)
2018 Sydney, Australia  Jo Edwards (NZL)  Shannon McIlroy (NZL)