Best in Australian bowls shortlisted ahead of 2019 Awards Night

by Lachlan Williams on September 19, 2019

The top contributors in Australian bowls both on and off the green have been shortlisted ahead of Bowls Australia’s 2019 Awards Night.

Players, officials and administrators from across the nation have been shortlisted across several categories, with winners to be announced at the Mantra on View on the Gold Coast on October 30.

Barrie Lester (VIC) and Aron Sherriff (QLD) are in the mix for International Male Bowler of the Year after steering Australia to gold medal wins in both the triples and fours at the 2019 Asia Pacific Championships. Sherriff is no stranger to the award, having won it four times since 2012.

Fellow BCiB Australian Jackaroos Lynsey Clarke (QLD) and Rebecca Van Asch (TAS) were shortlisted for the International Female Bowler of the Year award. Clarke was part of the duo that defeated Papua New Guinea to claim the pairs gold at the Asia Pacific Championships, while Van Asch helped win the triples event for the green and gold contingent.

Jake Fehlberg (QLD) will be attempting to secure a second consecutive win as Bowler with a Disability of the Year after another stellar season, winning all four national titles on offer in his category. He is up against Victorian Josh Barry, who tasted much success at the 2019 Multi-Disability Bowls National Championships.

Jake Rynne (QLD) and Jarryd Davies (VIC) were shortlisted for the Under-18 Male Bowler of the Year award. Both boys were selected in the Australian Emerging Jackaroos squad, while Rynne reached the Australian Open quarter finals and Davies tasted success at the Victorian Open in the pairs, as well as at the Australian Under-18 Championships.

Another emerging Jackaroo in Kira Bourke (QLD) has been recognised in the Under-18 Female Bowler category, after winning another under-18 singles title, up against Tasmanian representative Jorja Maughan.

Sorrento (WA) and Suburban Townsville (QLD) Bowling Clubs have been recognised as finalists for Club of the Year, with Victorian under-18 coach Matt Flapper (VIC) and Queensland Sporting Wheelies Disability Team coach Alan Thorp (QLD) up for Coach of the Year.

Werribee’s Rhonda Edwards (VIC) and Canberra’s Gayle Young (ACT) have have been recognised for their tireless efforts at respective clubs and organisations, listed as finalists for Volunteer of the Year.

WA Umpires Committee Chairman Michael Goble-Garratt and 2018 Commonwealth Games official Neil Smillie (VIC) are in the running for the Official of the Year award.

Two award recipients have already been confirmed, with Aron Sherriff (QLD) and Natasha Scott (NSW) set to be crowned Male and Female Bowlers of the Year, after concluding the 2018/19 National Rankings calendar period with the most amount of National Player Rankings Points.

The awards evening will be even more special for some in attendance, with several members of Australian bowls royalty to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, and others to be given elevation to Legend status.

Hall of Fame and Legend inductions occur every second year, with four Hall of Famers and five Legends set to be inducted this year.

Tickets for the 2019 Hall of Fame and Awards Night, to occur at Mantra on View on October 30, are now available to be purchased online, priced at $135.00 per person (plus processing fees), and includes a three-course meal and drinks packages.

Bowls Australia encourage anyone wishing to support the Award finalists and Hall of Fame recipients to attend.

Bowls Australia congratulates all award finalists, acknowledges the work of the selection committees and thanks the event partners for their invaluable contribution.

Purchase Awards Night tickets.

2019 Bowls Australia award finalists:

MakMax Volunteer of the Year finalists: Rhonda Edwards (Werribee, VIC), Gayle Young (Canberra, ACT)

BLK Official of the Year finalists: Michael Goble-Garratt (Willetton, WA), Neil Smillie (Bowls Victoria)

City of Gold Coast Coach of the Year: Matt Flapper (Bowls Victoria), Alan Thorp (Bowls Queensland)

Stockland Retirement Living Club of the Year finalists: Sorrento Bowling Club (WA), Suburban Bowling Club Townsville (QLD)

Bolton Clarke Bowler with a Disability of the Year finalists: Josh Barry (Deer Park, VIC) and Jake Fehlberg (Burleigh Heads, QLD)

BCiB Insurance Brokers Under-18 Male Bowler of the Year finalists: Jarryd Davies (Essendon, VIC), Jake Rynne (North Toowoomba, QLD)

BCiB Insurance Brokers Under-18 Female Bowler of the Year finalists: Kira Bourke (Tweed Heads, QLD), Jorja Maughan (Buckingham, TAS)

Tourism and Events Queensland Female Bowler of the Year winner: Natasha Scott (NSW)

Tourism and Events Queensland Male Bowler of the Year winner: Aron Sherriff (QLD)

Commonwealth Games Australia International Female Bowler of the Year finalists: Lynsey Clarke (Club Helensvale, QLD), Rebecca Van Asch (Invermay, TAS)

Sport Australia International Male Bowler of the Year finalists: Barrie Lester (Melbourne Bowls Club, VIC), Aron Sherriff (Club Helensvale, QLD)