#BPL10: Bowls’ showpiece event set for memorable milestone

by Bowls Australia on November 4, 2019

The Bowls Premier League is back and it’s safe to say that the tenth instalment of the sport’s made-for-television showpiece event is set for it’s biggest event to date.

Three new teams have been added to the eight-team competition, with the Adelaide Pioneers, Melbourne Pulse and Tweed Heads Ospreys the new faces when #BPL10 hits Queensland’s Club Pine Rivers.

Each team will bring with them a blend of previous BPL experience and freshness to the competition within their playing rosters, with the likes of Wayne Ruediger & Scott Thulborn (Pioneers), Barrie Lester & Natasha Scott (Pulse) and Aaron Teys (Ospreys) set to spearhead their respective licenses.

Joining them are fresh faces to the event in Rebecca Van Asch (Pioneers), Gary Kelly (Pulse) and Chloe Stewart & Kurt Brown (Ospreys).

The Pioneers, Pulse and Ospreys will join established BPL teams in the hometown Brisbane Pirates, Melbourne Roys, Murray Steamers, Perth Suns and Sydney Lions, with the Illawarra Gorillas, NZ Blackjacks and Gold Coast Hawks opting not to compete in BPL10.

Elsewhere, the standard of female bowlers is arguably the best it has ever been since the introduction of a mandatory female squad member at BPL04.

All eight female bowlers in the competition are current BCiB Australian Jackaroos, with over half in Rebecca Van Asch, Kelsey Cottrell, Natasha Scott, Carla Krizanic and Karen Murphy, Commonwealth Games and World Championship gold medallists, while the likes of Chloe Stewart, Kristina Krstic and Ellen Ryan are rising stars in the sport.

Joining their female counterparts are some of the biggest names in men’s bowls.

Scot Alex Marshall returns to steer the ship for the Brisbane Pirates, Northern Ireland’s Gary Kelly will suit up for the Melbourne Pulse following a stirring run of form since his relocation to Australia early in the year, former Jackaroo Matt Flapper makes a return to the Melbourne Roys who also boast Commonwealth Games Singles gold medallist Aaron Wilson, 2017/18 Male Bowler of the Year David Ferguson joins Ryan Bester in a formidable Murray Steamers outfit, Lee Schraner and Cody Packer add some star power to a re-jigged Perth Suns outfit, while the biggest move of all is the return of Aron Sherriff to the Sydney Lions, the team he previously won a BPL three-peat with.

The BPL is staged biannually, at Queensland’s Club Pine Rivers in November and New South Wales/Victoria border club Moama in February.


The event was designed to change people’s perception of our sport and as we gear up for BPL10 we can safely say, bowls is bigger and better than ever before.

The BPL is the 20-20 of bowls, it’s fast, it’s loud, it attracts the world’s best bowlers and it appeals to non-bowlers who once upon a time may have seen bowls in a different light.

The players have embraced the BPL format and done a terrific job entertaining the crowds at the host venues and back at home tuning into the live broadcast on Fox Sports, Kayo Sports & Sky Sport NZ.

Bowls Premier League 10 (#BPL10)
November 12-15, 2019
Club Pine Rivers, Brisbane, Queensland
Day Sessions: From 10:30 AEST (11:30am AEDT) (Bowls Australia Facebook – live-streaming)
Night Sessions: From 5pm AEST (6pm AEDT) (Fox Sports, Kayo Sports & Sky Sport NZ)


Adelaide Pioneers: Wayne Ruediger, Scott Thulborn, Bec Van Asch (Coach – Les Carter)
Brisbane Pirates: Alex Marshall, Michael Breen, Kelsey Cottrell (Coach – Dave Edwards)
Melbourne Pulse: Gary Kelly, Barrie Lester, Natasha Scott (Coach – Rob Wilson)
Melbourne Roys: Aaron Wilson, Matt Flapper, Carla Krizanic (Coach – Ian Ewing)
Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, David Ferguson, Ellen Ryan (Coach – Barry Brennan)
Perth Suns: Lee Schraner, Cody Packer, Kristina Krstic (Coach – Pieter Harris)
Sydney Lions: Aron Sherriff, Ben Twist, Karen Murphy (Coach – Steve Glasson)
Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Kurt Brown, Chloe Stewart (Coach – Wayne Turley)