2020 Trans Tasman Test Series: Preview

by Bowls Australia

The time-honoured Trans Tasman Test Series between Australia and New Zealand returns for an additional bout in early 2020, as players from both nations grapple for positions in their respective World Championships squads.

The BCiB Australian Jackaroos will be eager to continue from where they left off last November, when they completed a series clean-sweep over the Blackjacks, also on the Gold Coast.

Selectors from both nations have opted for changes to their open teams, with Kelsey Cottrell reinstated in the coveted Singles post for Australia, while Shannon McIlroy returns to both the Singles and Pairs posts after missing the last series.

Elsewhere and for Australia, Ellen Ryan and Wayne Ruediger’s impressive 2019 Multi-Nations has seen both players return to the fold in both the Triples and Fours, with a few positional changes also across the board for the Aussies.

As mentioned, McIlroy returns for New Zealand and will again form a partnership with Gary Lawson in the Pairs, while Mike Kernaghan and Wendy Jensen have also been recalled.

The series marks the final international event for both nations before the 2020 World Championships commence from May 26 to June 7 on the Gold Coast.

Bowls Australia will be live-streaming selected matches across all three days of competition.

2020 Trans Tasman Test Series
February 4-6, 2020
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
Broadbeach, Helensvale & Musgrave Hill

Australian Open Team


Singles: Kelsey Cottrell
Pairs: Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch
Triples: Ellen Ryan, Kelsey Cottrell, Natasha Scott
Fours: Ellen Ryan, Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca Van Asch, Natasha Scott


Singles: Aaron Wilson
Pairs: Corey Wedlock, Aaron Wilson
Triples: Wayne Ruediger, Aaron Teys, Aron Sherriff
Fours: Wayne Ruediger, Corey Wedlock, Aaron Teys, Aron Sherriff

New Zealand Open Team


Singles: Jo Edwards
Pairs: Selina Goddard, Jo Edwards
Triples: Wendy Jensen, Val Smith, Katelyn Inch
Fours: Wendy Jensen, Selina Goddard, Val Smith, Katelyn Inch


Singles: Shannon McIlroy
Pairs: Shannon McIlory, Gary Lawson
Triples: Chris Le Lievre, Mike Kernaghan, Ali Forsyth
Fours: Chris Le Lievre, Mike Kernaghan, Gary Lawson, Ali Forsyth

Note: Andrew Kelly replaced by Chris Le Lievre (January 29, 2020)